2005-11-20

In the flat field...

There are little flecks of black nail polish in my keyboard and all over my desk. I just don't have the heart to take a remover-soaked cotton ball to what remains on my nails. I look at my hands, and I am instantly 17 years younger.

The houseboy, see, being the good wuddy puddums that he is, scored some fan-fucking-tash tickets to Bauhaus last weekend at the Orpheum. My friend Jean and I sort of almost agonized over what we were going to wear. Go as the wispy shadows of our former goffic selves? Go the complete opposite route and show up in tidily-pressed Oxford shirts and khakis? The latter option was sorely tempting, but in the end galloping nostalgia won out and I decked myself in black/velvety/corsety/Victorian goff-y goodness, and even bought new black liquid eyeliner just for the occasion.

The houseboy knows only of these dark days via photographs, my rather large collection of goth/industrial music, and my occasional demonstrations of "goff dancing" (The Penny Scoop! The Taffy Pull!) whenever I hear Sisters of Mercy. He has never really seen me in my former darkling splendour, and so when I emerged from the boudoir, he looked at me for a moment and said, "Well, don't you just look ready for the grave, dear."

So, yah, seeing Bauhaus was like the last night of sex with someone moving away for good. I've seen Peter Murphy numerous times, but never thought I'd ever, EVER get to see Bauhaus. When the lights went down at the Orpheum and the intro music bellowed from the sound system, Jean and I held hands and shrieked like little girls. "Ohmigod ohmigod OHMIGOD!"

I didn't want it to end. They do a bang-up job of sounding EXACTLY like their recordings, which some people might feel lacks a certain spontaneity and intimacy, but fuck that noise. They're not a goddamn (gag) JAM BAND. Bauhaus gave freshman year of college back to me for 90 minutes!

The nailpolish stays.

lisamcc at 6:27 p.m.



2 comments so far
jerrbear
2005-11-23 15:28:49
Oh, how I envy you. But the choice was Devo or Bauhaus, and I'm happy with my choice.
-------------------------------

tudor-diva
2007-02-15 08:38:58
OK, this entry is a bit vintage but worth commenting on all the same, seeing as it IS Bauhaus in concert and all that is Bauhaus-y good. They swung through H-Town back in 2000 I think it was. GREAT show, high energy, diverse crowd with the 40 somethings who had just finished their downtown office jobs and were still wearing ties, all the way to the fifteen year old Marilyn Manson wannabes. It was fantastic. They came through here again last year with Trent Reznot opening up for them, but my gal pal and I were too pregnant to go. Oh well!
-------------------------------

previous | next