2005-07-13

Rock Star, my ass.

No, I am NOT watching that INXS show; I won't even provide a link to that INXS show, because I find the whole thing so appalling.

Look, I enjoy a good morbid outing as much as the next death hag, but this is just....wrong. It's deeply unsettling, and when I say that you best believe that I am deeply unsettled, chickens.

It's not even as if I'm a HUGE fan of INXS anymore. I actually lost interest after "Listen Like Thieves," which - to my mind - was the last really good record they did, before "Kick" came out and they got all wicked popular-n-junk. Now, to my mind, "Shabooh Shoobah" is the BEST of their catalog, and you would all do well to snap it up, if you don't already have it.

I digress. I watched about 3 minutes of this "reality show," in which the surviving members of INXS (in case you've been living under a rock, or you're 12 years old er sumpin': several years ago singer Michael Hutchence either hung himself, or accidentally died jerking-off-while-hanging-himself, depending on whose story you believe) whittle down a pool of prospective "singers" in search of their new frontperson.

I watched about 3 minutes of said talent, as they grouped around the swimming pool of their faaaaaaaabulous (and cruelly temporary) Rock Star digs, doing that One Thing Which Is Unforgivable To LisaMcC, the thing that makes me want to run screaming, join a convent, have gum surgery...anything.

They were "jamming."

Nothing makes my supper curdle in my bowels faster than a bunch of stinky-looking neo-hippies engaging in this most egregious, masturbatory and seemingly endless "musical" endeavor. Really. I don't understand it, I never have, and I don't apologize for finding it STUPID.

3 minutes of this was enough. I don't want to have the lovely listening experience that is "Shabooh Shoobah" or "The Swing" ruined by the thought that INXS is going to record an album with one of these nincompoops.

lisamcc at 8:39 p.m.



1 comments so far
Lisa
2005-07-29 21:13:29
I am so with you ... on the INXS catalog and the travesty of "Rock Star." Hearing Dave Navarro rationalize the non-sacrilege of the show breaks my heart almost as much as the thought that Michael Hutchence can be replaced by a reality ho!
-------------------------------

previous | next