2005-04-14

Walkin' in LA, part TWO

Day 2, Los Angeles - I manage to jerk wide awake at about 6 AM, with no hope of falling back to sleep. Paula and Aaron won't be up for another 2 hours, so I amuse myself by deflating my inflatable mattress and attempting to fold and stuff it back into its box. This proves impossible, so I wad it up as neatly as possible and cram it behind an amplifier.

Today's plan is to hit It's A Wrap! in Burbank, recommended to us by our pal Spooney's girlfriend. In the meantime, Paula and I drink copious amounts of coffee and watch a good hour's worth of my Live AID DVD, which I have brought with me. Paula, Aaron and I are unanimously agreed that Bryan Ferry's cover of Lennon's "Jealous Guy" sucks nine kinds of ass, no matter how many times Ad tries to "explain the whole Bryan Ferry thing" to me.

Eventually we managed to get dressed, and before long we were en route to Burbank. It's A Wrap! turns out to be kinda a bust, as (not surprisingly) most of the clothing there (culled from the wardrobe departments of various television and movie studios) was FAR too tiny for my somewhat zaftig frame. I did, however, score an amazingly stupid newsboy cap, emblazoned with vaguely psychotic-looking pink bunnies, that purportedly came from the set of "The Tracey Ullman Show." I have every reason to believe this is so.

On our way back, we passed marcjoseph, which is this utterly amazing vintage furniture store. Paula and I wandered through it, gobsmacked by desire, and the proprieter was SO NICE to us, even though we clearly were not in any way able to buy anything. He told his about his vintage clothing store around the corner, which was open on Friday, and we promised that we would come back.

Then we hit this fine establishment, where I found a HUGE BOX of "LUXOR" sanitary belts still in the package, and I screamed like a little BITCH. Natch, I bought a bunch of them, because they were dirt cheap and I wanted to have them in my bathroom in time for Mark's party.

We got home, took a nap, then ventured out to see Kay's excellent new project, The Dilettantes, at Hotel Cafe. Still mildly jetlagged, and not entirely over the puking incident from the night before, I gave Kay the blow-by-blow of my flight from Boston.

"You know what you should do? Complain to JetBlue....Michael and I were stuck on the tarmac once for 40 minutes, and I complained to them afterwards, and they sent us a FIFTY DOLLAR voucher. I mean, on JetBlue, that goes a long way."
"Yeah.....but.....I mean, it's not really JetBlue's fault in this case, you know?"
Kay was unswayed. "Write to them and COMPLAIN. They'll send you a voucher, I swear."
"I'd just feel STUPID, though..."
Kay cocked an eyebrow in that "suit yourself" kind of way. I know this look. Kay doesn't fuck around. Write a letter. Case closed.

Dear JetBlue:
On March 28th I flew Boston to Long Beach alongside a child who vomited all over our row two hours into the flight. I sat in my seat, stewing in the dense olfactory aftermath, for another four hours. How about one of them vouchers? Kay Hanley said I should ask.
P.S. - the fact that you offer VH1 Classic as one of the stations on my seatback television set is the TITS.

to be continued...

lisamcc at 8:26 p.m.



2 comments so far
Houseboy
2005-04-15 11:06:27
I feel kinda stupid. Did you put the sanitary belt in the bathroom? 'Cause I never noticed it.
-------------------------------

beatpoetgrrl
2005-04-16 21:37:50
you know kay hanley. i am so jealous.
-------------------------------

previous | next