2000-06-23

Friday Thoughts

There's no earthly way of KNOW-ing...

Random Thoughts For A Bright, Sunny Friday:

  • Is it just me? Am I the only one who finds Gene Wilder as Willy Wonka incredibly arousing?
  • Yesterday marked the First Time In Years that I actually threw something at the television set. It was a Burger King commercial, featuring the readily-identifiable clay-mation stylings of Aardman, them what are behind "Wallace and Gromit," and the new film "Chicken Run." Have you heard about this movie? It's about a bunch of chickens who escape the fate of being turned into pot pies. Kind of a neat way to turn kids onto a more animal-friendly lifestyle, I thought, until I saw this fucking commercial and sat there, jaw on the floor, for a full 30 seconds before I hurled my near-empty tumbler of orange-banana juice at the t.v. and shrieked: "I did NOT just see that!!!"

    To sum up: it was a Burger King/"Chicken Run" tie-in promo, the gist of which was (and this is a direct quote): "Save the Chickens! EAT MORE BEEF!"

    So, here's where I throw in my disclaimer in that I am not exactly strict with my dietary choices. Much of what I consume is hardly vegan. I objected to this commercial primarily on a logical level -- it's fucking stupid and it makes no sense.

  • Finally, to the person who is checking my site every hour on the hour to see if I've updated: you give me far too much credit. I mean, don't you all know by now what a lazy ass I am?

    lisamcc at 14:05:09



    0 comments so far

    previous | next