2000-03-13

NYC Part 2

Hotcha!

I know all 10 or 11 of you are just dying to hear more about our trip to NYC, after I dangled such tantalizing tidbits of information on that last entry.

We befriended Oleg, the aforementioned coke-sniffing Russian, in the bar of the Hotel Pennsylvania. Now, we had no idea at the time that Oleg was a coke-sniffing Russian, just that he was Russian.

Oleg liked us. He liked us so much, that in a grand sweeping gesture of solidarity, he instructed our bewildered bartender to make a "Dr. Pepper." This bizarre concoction consisted of cheap draught beer and Amaretto. The bartender was then instructed to pour a shot of whiskey, set it on fire, and drop it into the beer. Kev, to my horror, agreed to drink this in one gulp.

Several beers later, Kev and Oleg were old friends. Pooped, and ready to call it a night, I went upstairs to our room.

Around 3:30 in the morning, I heard whispering coming from our bathroom. Intrigued, and also having to pee, I tapped on the door.

"Uhmmm, that you, Lees? Do you need to pee?"

"Uh, yeah, but whatever..." I crawled back into bed and pretended to busy myself with an old issue of Murder Can Be Fun.

More whispers. Then Kev came out, looking amused. Oleg staggered out behind him, carrying a pint of brandy in a paper bag.

"Leeeza, you are okay, yes?"

"I'm fine, Oleg."

"I...I am sorry for disturbing your marriage..."

"Uh, that's okay, Oleg." I shot Kev a "What the heck is that supposed to mean?" look. He shrugged.

"You are upset, Leeeza?"

"I'm fine."

"Okay. You are good peerson, Leeeza. You I like very much."

The next morning, Kev informed me that Oleg had invited himself upstairs because he wanted to give us something -- his prized stash of coke as a token of gratitude for our friendliness. Kev politely declined on behalf of us both.

lisamcc at 13:41:05



0 comments so far

previous | next