2010-10-19

Update from Suburbia.

The commute into the city still takes an hour. Doesn't matter what day, or what time of day. An hour. Always.

Slowly, we are accumulating the possessions of suburban homeowners. Did I mention we have a trash compactor? We do. The only other person I know who has one of these is my mother-in-law. My maternal grandparents also had one. Visits to Montana were never complete without a ceremonial Running of the Trash Compactor. And now I have one. Yes, I use it. It brings back memories of a simpler time, when I'd find reasons to stuff my grandparents' trash compactor to bursting, so I could regularly marvel at flattened waste. I expect that my nieces and nephew will be similarly thrilled.

Next up - a couch. I have one in mind. It looks like something Don Draper would shag his secretary on. It's pretty much the only one that will do. Every other couch I've seen is an overstuffed nightmare. Showrooms full of tumescent couches that look like giant Jet-Puffed coconut marshmallows. It's like nowhere north or south of Boston will sell us a couch that won't take up the whole living room with its plush velour bombasticness. Nowhere, except Marty's in Melrose, where the aforementioned Secretary Shagging couch is being sold. They haven't entirely caved in and succumbed to the Plague of Giant Puffy Couches. They're good people.

Also? The basement is haunted. The whole house is, more or less, but the highest concentration of eekiness is in the basement. I know some of you scoff at this sort of thing, and that's fine. You're not the ones who have to go down there to do laundry.

lisamcc at 12:41 p.m.



3 comments so far
Tina
2010-10-20 01:24:12
To this date, Wally does not believe. Even though I have told him of my encounters with ghosts from Barcelona, Spain to Melbourne, Australia, to Hull, MA. My first encounter truly wasn't until my visit to Barcelona. Not many believe me. But, I don't care.
-------------------------------

Lisa
2010-10-20 01:30:15
Not everybody picks up on it the way we do, sister.
-------------------------------

Mumma
2010-10-20 15:18:34
I can't imagine the ghosts in your basement would be sinister...they are probably family members looking out for you guys. Try to make friends...say Hi when you go down there..mebbe they'll do your wash.
-------------------------------

previous | next