2010-09-15

Humble (Birthday) Pie

Yeah, so I turned 40 yesterday.

Unlike the last "decade-versary," 40 was observed rather quietly. We got dinner, I packed a few boxes, and there was pie. Some months prior, I had thought about throwing myself a party, but then The Endless Move was thrust at us, and time and money became issues. So...pie it is.

Out of curiosity, I went deep into the archives here and found an entry about my 30th birthday. It was somewhat brief, but it spoke volumes. I talked about being at a bar, with LOTS of people who bought me LOTS of drinks. This made me feel "popular" and loved. I breezily glossed over the fight the houseboy and I got into later that night, when we were home, and the pretty lights and pretty drinks and pretty friends had ceased to be.

This was where my drinking invariably took me each night - the celebration and boozy camaraderie gone, I was left with myself, and I was not especially great company. Without the Stoli-fueled bonhomie, I was dropped to the earth, but usually dropped within inches of the edge of a very steep precipice. I'd become argumentative, then weepy and apologetic, and then I'd pass out. When I wrote that entry, I still had a little under two more years of drinking left in me. I was still putting on a good show, at least for the people who didn't have to go home with me.

The pie was perfectly lovely.

lisamcc at 7:38 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next