2010-06-19

Now we are eight.

So it's 8 years today. 8 years since I've had to take a chemical commercial break from my life. It's all movies, all the time. And I'd be lying if I said that didn't kind of suck sometimes. But mostly I've gotten to see a lot of things that I would've missed, because I'd either be passed out or - let's face it - dead.

But I'm not dead. Which is awesome.

Today is really no different than any other day, in that I've gotten up, had my coffee, scooped poop out of the litterbox, tended to the wee beasties, tweezed a chin hair. I'm still at the same job. I still hate Fleetwood Mac.

But it's miles away from where I was. I don't wake up with a hangover. My Saturdays and Sundays are not spent in my darkened bedroom. I'm not covered in bruises I can't explain and I don't call into work and claim I have "food poisoning" for the eleventy-seven billionth time.

"It's five o'clock somewhere" went from being a joke, to being a bona fide rationalization. Having a couple of stiff ones before I did my laundry made perfect sense to me. My world got smaller and smaller until all that was in it was me, and I was not exactly very good company. Active addiction is a desperately lonely place to be. We drink alone, even in a room full of people.

I don't live that way anymore.

lisamcc at 8:38 a.m.



4 comments so far
John McColgan
2010-06-19 13:20:22
Congradulations, God bess, continue to do the very best for Lisa. Love Dad
-------------------------------

Aunt Joan
2010-06-19 15:54:20
Good for you and may you have many more.:-)
-------------------------------

Jess
2010-06-19 22:20:23
Congratulations, Lisa. That's awesome. Takes a lot of strength to do what you've done, and you should feel really good about yourself for doing it.
-------------------------------

Honey
2010-06-21 20:35:49
Wow, good for you! Way to make all of my achievements look like shit. Keep doing that.
-------------------------------

previous | next