2010-05-03

Aquapocalypse Now

Welcome to the Aquapocalypse.

For those of you not in the area, we have been seemingly hurtled back to the Colonial era, due to a water main break (or "catastrophic leak") this past Saturday.

Yea, verily, it's like the Third World here in Boston, what with having to boil water and not being able to buy coffee.

I mean, my God. Bring on the locusts.

(The grammar snob in me must needs point out the egregious use of quotation marks here.)

Tourists - you would do well to not ask any uncaffeinated locals for directions while this is going on. They will bite off your heads and do unspeakable things with them.

Personally, I don't get the massive throngs beating down the doors of every Stop&Shop in the Greater Boston area to obtain bottled water. I don't get these people pushing shopping carts stacked with the stuff as if they're preparing for the End Times.

I don't mean to sound like a...a LIBERAL here (I mean more so than usual), but this is par for the goddamn COURSE in many other parts of the world, people. This will be over and done by Wednesday at the latest, and you're all carrying on like you'll never be able to run your Sonicare under the bathroom tap ever again.

And, really, is it the worst thing in the world to not be able to drink Dunkin' Donuts coffee? That stuff is hot dog water. A little contamination, I daresay, would improve it.

lisamcc at 8:13 a.m.



1 comments so far
Lynette
2010-05-03 20:03:05
Mmmmmm...hot dog water. Gotta go find me a dog to bathe...
-------------------------------

previous | next