2010-03-15

The Zombie Movie Outline.

We went to see the remake of The Crazies yesterday, and I'm now relatively certain that, with a little help, I could make a decent "zombie" movie.

At the last Mortified! at which I read, I met a fellow reader who was working on a script for an ABC Family Channel movie. She explained that you're essentially given an outline that you need to stick to, and you flesh it out with your characters and dialogue.

After chewing on this for a second, I said, "In a way, I would think that takes a lot of pressure off."

"Oh, totally," she replied.

So I think I could "flesh out" (pun intended) the Standard Zombie Outline in fairly short order.

I Establish scene


II Meanwhile, in undisclosed, vaguely-governmental-looking nearby location...

III Introduce suspicious character and/or behavior

IV Member of local law enforcement is awakened from sound sleep by ringing phone.

V Repeat IV.A and/or IV.B until only remaining townspeople are:

VI Survivors begin journey to nearest large city, only to discover government involvement in what is happening.


VII Struggle with zombie results in curmudgeonly local business owner being bitten. Moment of redemption occurs when business owner puts himself in line of fire of hazmat-wearing government employees, telling the others to run, because "I'm a goner anyway."


VIII Juvenile delinquent killed by now-zombie football captain boyfriend of hysterical teenage girl in attempt to protect her. Hysterical teenage girl, sobbing, shoots zombie boyfriend in head.


IX Member of local law enforcement and now battleworn, jaded teenage girl find themselves at the city limits, where they discover:

FIN

I think I've covered it. I'm sure my filmmaker cousin will correct me if I've missed any salient points.

lisamcc at 12:56 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next