2010-01-02

The Holidays: A Pictorial.

Well, the holidays have come and gone. I put Christmas back down in the basement for another year, and the house now just feels...sort of BLAH. I'd been so enjoying the fact that the place looked like Santa's elves had projectile vomited all over it.

Despite my gloomy goth leanings, nobody does Christmas like I do. I come by it quite honestly. My mother is the QUEEN of holiday decorating. You wanna walk into a house and be FILLED with the spirit of...uh...tacky decorations.

Yes, those are SANTA SLIPPERS. Sue me.

It's not the holidays without Dean Martin and Mario Lanza.

We've had this wreath for ages, but I felt it was missing something, somehow. So about 3 years ago I affixed one of the "Implied Regurgitation" stickers that Mark Hosler gave me, and all was suddenly right with that wreath.

So now, with everything back in the basement, I'm reminded that my two LEAST favorite months are upon me: January and February. I couldn't be one of those people who leave the stuff up until St. Patrick's Day, clinging to Christmas long after the last of the Valentine's Day Whitman's Sampler has been demolished. So with a heavy heart, I put it all away. Except for one little sprig from the tree:

I know. I'm completely insane. My need to attach sentimental value to random, useless objects has been well-established. I've been watching a lot of that show "Hoarders" lately, and even as I carefully put the little tree sprig on my dresser, I had visions of myself - five or six years down the road - sitting in a room packed floor-to-ceiling with CRAP and arguing with one of the show's "professional organizers" about whether or not I needed to keep it. "I CAN'T THROW THAT AWAY! It's from Christmas 2009! That was the Christmas I got the SNUGGIE! It was the...best...Christmas ever..."

And then I break down sobbing.

My challenge now is to not fall into the midwinter doldrums that usually grab hold of me. My friend Michelle started a Facebook page called "I Made A Tiny Snowman," which is exactly what you think. Make a tiny snowman, take a picture.

I rather like the idea of guerilla tiny snowman making. I like to think that my li'l guy is still perched on his fence on Massachusetts Avenue, and that people see him and are just a little happier for it.

lisamcc at 8:18 p.m.



1 comments so far
mumma
2010-01-04 03:02:42
I know you have your Christmas Cow lights, but they don't even come close to my M&M lights...but thank you for the "compliment" even tho' once you referred to my Holiday Decorating skills as being akin to a department store. Your house did look awesome...
-------------------------------

previous | next