2009-12-07

What I Want For Christmas

My needs and wants are few, but perhaps a tad unrealistic.

Mostly, I want to NOT be engaged in a last-second frenzy of wrapping on Christmas Day, right before we have to go to New Hampshire. I want to wake up, have my coffee, exchange gifts with my loved one, watch at least 45 minutes of the "A Christmas Story" marathon (unless VH1 Classic is going to run holiday videos), and endure nothing more stressful than keeping Foot Foot from gnawing on the tree.

I would happily forgo replacement heads for my Sonicare, a bottle of BVLGARI Omnia, and any and all Haunted Mansion commemorative swag if I could have a Christmas Day free from last-minute wrapping, I swear to God I would.

To that end, I am nearly done with my shopping. I've even started wrapping stuff. This makes people hate me and think that I am organized or something. Like I'm Martha Stewart, tying the glitter spray-painted raffia strands around the hand-written parchment scrolls which will serve as menus for my Holiday Feast...three days before the actual event. Oh, no. No no no no no. I'm still the kind of gal who shoves everything into the bedroom closet before "entertaining."

I am mostly shopped-decorated-and-wrapped some 2 1/2 weeks before Christmas as an act of SELF-PRESERVATION. Make no mistake about that.

lisamcc at 9:36 a.m.



2 comments so far
mumma
2009-12-08 03:26:08
Oh, my Dear...it's in the genes. I recall really early early Christmases when I was a kid and we "celebrated" Christmas on Christmas Eve. It was a mob scene in my Auntie Mary's bedroom, wrapping, taping, curling ribbon and discovering we had run out of name tags... and this was at 4:30 in the afternoon of the 24th. Every year we swore, "Never again." But with time, it became part of our Holiday Tradition. Of course we also had to wrap all of Grandpa's gifts for Grandma...and he'd only shopped for them that afternoon. Ah, good times, good times. And I continued the tradition with you guys as well. Love ya'.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2009-12-08 04:34:23
Dude, you're awesome. And don't worry if you mail my present too late to make it here for Christmas. That huge box filled with cash will still be just as awesome.
-------------------------------

previous | next