2009-07-28

Oh noes!

I got a call at work yesterday from Olga, the receptionist at my doctor's office. I thought, "Uh-oh/oh boy! If they're calling me, something must be WRONG."

(For those of you just tuning in, my doctor is from Russia, as is nearly everyone in her employ. It's both exciting and scary to go there, because they are very brusque and no-nonsense.)

My first thought was that they tested my blood again and my current diagnosis is incorrect (by the by, I think "Pernicious Anemia" sounds like a character on Masterpiece Theatre), and I've REALLY got some rare disorder which will require me to see my doctor every week. Thrilling!

The news is bad.

My doctor. My steely Russian doctor whom I secretly think likes me just a little bit, even with my tattoos and piercings and embarrassed hemming and hawing. She is CLOSING HER PRACTICE.

Nooooooooo!

Olga has assured me that all of us patients will find new doctors. She is sending me a list, along with some paperwork about my medical records and blah blah blah. But I barely heard all of that for the sound of my pernicious, anemic blood rushing in my ears. I wanted to whimper, "I don't WANT another doctor." But then Olga would bark at me, and I can only take so much disapproval in one day.

Sigh.

lisamcc at 7:30 a.m.



1 comments so far
mumma
2009-07-29 00:32:50
Arghhh...Oh, the horror...cannot think of anything worse than having to find a new doctor...went thru that agony years ago when we changed medical coverage and lost Dr Pompeo. Thankfully, we were able to get him back a few years later. I felt so lost!!! Coming to Florida brought about the same feelings of loss. Thanks be to Whomever, we found an MD (is that correct grammer) with whom we feel confident. Still miss Dr Pompeo...
-------------------------------

previous | next