2009-06-13

OVATION: tv for drama nerds.

About a week or so ago, I stumbled upon this:

Ovation TV.

It's like the Universe gave me the bestest present EVER. I mean, besides my family, my friends, and the fact that my marriage didn't implode. Besides THOSE things, this is better than Neil Finn on a pony bearing several pairs of Jonathan Kelseys.

Basically, this is Television For Drama Nerds. Heaven.

Last week I watched a documentary on the making of the film version of "West Side Story." And after all these years, I FINALLY got to hear Natalie Wood's ACTUAL VOCALS. Of course, I later learned that I could have found this on YouTube, but I HAD NO IDEA up until watching this.

A little flimsy, yes, but respectable, and a solid effort given the difficulty of that score. I ultimately understand why the "powers that be" had her voice replaced with that of Marni Nixon. That said, if this movie had been made today, with a star of Natalie Wood's caliber, you can bet that vocal would've stayed put. Look at "Sweeney Todd," for fuck's sake.

And THEN, earlier this week I watched another documentary called "Life After Tomorrow," about the actresses that played Annie throughout the musical's heyday in the late 70's and very early 80's.

Man, THAT was fascinating. What a machine that show was. The actresses spoke of being measured and weighed, and "as soon as the stagehands started paying attention" to their developing figures, they were out. And there was, of course, a fair amount of adjusting back to the "real world" of chores and public school -- one actress talked about not even being able to get a job BACKSTAGE at her school's production of "Annie."

They gave equal face time to each of these women, whether it was the Annie from the second National Tour, or the most famous of the Annies: Sarah Jessica Parker (who came across as completely sincere and totally likable). Noticeably absent were Andrea McArdle and Molly Ringwald, but it was still totally engaging.

I don't know what I did to deserve such a channel, but I'll keep doing it.

lisamcc at 10:18 a.m.



4 comments so far
Lynette
2009-06-13 16:30:56
Wow. I had always assumed her singing voice would have been horrid. I forget this was standard practice - the whole Debbie Reynolds behind the curtain thing. I mean, hell, how many times did one of us sing offstage to "help" the leads in BRO? But like you said - respectable job.
-------------------------------

voodoo
2009-06-13 19:48:54
I agree with you, I thought her voice was fine.
-------------------------------

GBF
2009-06-14 19:09:22
Her voice was as thin and flat as the Annies needed to be.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2009-06-14 20:31:55
Oh, bah, Gay Boyfriend. She wasn't nearly as bad as Audrey Hepburn, and that's the TRUTH.
-------------------------------

previous | next