2009-05-10

You just take more than you give...

Why is YouTube recommending, like, a full PAGE of Rick Astley videos for me to watch? For the life of me, I do not recall watching any Rick Astley videos. I WON'T CAVE IN, YOUTUBE. I AM MY OWN PERSON.

Actually, though....I DID watch THIS video not long ago:

My sister will actually sing this to her kids whenever they start whining about something. Now, I myself am not a parent, but this strikes me as either completely brilliant or totally cruel. Either way, it does seem to shut them up.

I remember listening to this song on my crappy little AM/FM clock radio in my bedroom and just welling up with the TRUTHFULNESS of it all. They were RIGHT. IT ISN'T FAIR.

I was 12, okay?

Of course, I listen to it now and all I can fixate on is the line "I've had enough/Now I want my share." THAT MAKES NO FUCKING SENSE. He wants his share of what he's had ENOUGH of? The mind boggles.

And that kid totally should have just grabbed that jar of candy and BOLTED.

lisamcc at 8:37 p.m.



4 comments so far
andrea
2009-05-12 00:06:17
Oh my fucking god. This takes me back, and not in a good way.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2009-05-12 02:09:07
Ok, I had never heard or seen that before. And, dang it Lisa, I could have LIVED without all those nostril shots! And his bad shirt. And the tepid metaphors. I have to go wash my brain out with soap.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2009-05-12 20:41:05
No one will remain seated during the riveting candy dispensing sequence!!!
-------------------------------

Tina
2009-05-14 02:05:49
Dude, he's 'had enough' of being disrespected, yo'. And now he wants his share of respect. For reals.
-------------------------------

previous | next