2009-03-18

Hate gives me a warm tingly feeling...

My friend Jean is a wondrously funny cookie, indeed. And she's also sort of a one-woman crusade for proper use of the apostrophe. As such, she will periodically email reporters when she comes across flagrant grammatical abuse. She did so yesterday, sending along a reminder that many "journalists" seem to need:

"The possessive of 'it' is 'its.' No apostrophe.
'It's' is a contraction of 'it is.'"

Well, the "journalist" in question basically FLIPPED HIS SHIT, and sent her a heaping dose of electro-crazy:

"Um, Jean, the global economy is in the toilet and this is where your priorities are?"

I love people who feel the need to remind us all that the world's a big messy mess and that we should be focused on that instead of correcting people's grammar, speculating on Tom & Giselle, or bitching about the new Facebook layout.

And, yeah, it's silly. I felt kind of stupid this morning when I accepted my friend Larry's invitation to join a Facebook group dedicated specifically to how much the new layout sucks the nether regions of barnyard animals. But accept I did, because even though the economy is in the crapper and there's still a war going on, I hate the new Facebook layout. HATE it.

Of course I have bigger fish to fry, personally, financially, and emotionally. But some of this shit is completely out of my control, and sometimes it's just perversely comforting to sweat the small stuff. Like opening up a little valve and releasing some steam, however petty.

lisamcc at 9:55 a.m.



1 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2009-03-18 23:21:42
Um, reporter, your proper response to Jean should've (note that it's not "should of") been "I stand corrected." THE END.
-------------------------------

previous | next