2009-02-27

Post-op.

Well, Foot Foot is now SANS her ladybits and seems none the worse for wear. Her belly's been shaved, as has part of her right front leg, making her look as if she's wearing an UGG boot. Her eyes were glassy and dilated last night, but basically she just wanted to get right back to the business of being Foot Foot: playing in her water dish, jumping up on the kitchen table, and licking her butt (which around these parts we refer to as "playing the cello").

We administered her pain medication early this morning, and she loped around like a character out of an O'Neill play for a bit, but now she's more or less back to her morning routine of looking out the window and making little "ack ack ack" noises at the birds. I'm sticking around the homestead for a little bit this morning, just to make sure that she's not chewing at the closure (she really doesn't seem to care very much).

So THAT'S done with, although we'll be paying for it for a little while (it costs more to get a queen dealt with than it does a tom -- quite a bit more, as it turns out), but we're living frugally enough these days that it's not a punch to the gut, financially speaking.

Chalk it up to "the new normal." Because what's going on right now? This is the new normal. This is what we have to get used to. It's not going away any time soon. It's why I cut up all my credit cards. It's why I bring my lunch to work, and why I don't go out for coffee at 10 o'clock in the morning anymore. It's why I'm taking shoes in to be repaired rather than just buy new shoes. I accept my small-but-not-insignificant role in what's going on in the broader sense. I lived beyond my means for a good long while, and I have the mildly obscene credit card debt to prove it.

And now Foot Foot has crawled into my lap and curled herself into a warm, furry knot. She'll be okay, and so will we.

lisamcc at 9:14 a.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next