2009-02-04

MORTIFIED

In just about a month, I'm going to do....something. The revelation thereof has garnered the following reactions from my friends:

Mish: "That takes some BALLS, dude."
Hugh: "Oh my God. Seriously? Why don't you just get up onstage totally naked?"
Susan: "Are you insane?"

Last week an opportunity fell into my lap. I could have shooed it off, but I chose instead to scratch its fuzzy little ears and make it a pet.

In just about a month, I am going to get up onstage in a room full of both total strangers and (hopefully) people who know me yet love me anyway, and BARE MY TORTURED TEENAGED SOUL.

I am going to read from my high school diaries. People are going to pay a cover to watch me -- and a select few other total lunatics -- read from our high school diaries.

I met with the two lovely coordinators for the Boston chapter of "Mortified" last night, braving a snowstorm, and two disabled Red Line trains, to get there (the latter public transportation woes prompted Mish to intone ominously: "You know what this means, Lees? It means that GOD DOESN'T WANT YOU TO READ FROM YOUR HIGH SCHOOL DIARIES.").

Those of you who've been with me on this online journey from the get-go have already SEEN some choice passages from these wee, fabric-covered volumes. In that case, I was very selective in choosing what I would reprint. Last night, I read the most horrifying, stupefyingly AWFUL stuff I could find.

They screamed with laughter.

There is something very exhausting-yet-exhilarating about this. There was also a part of me that felt enormously guilty about reading this poor 16-year-old girl's diary aloud, even knowing full well that *I* was the 16-year-old girl. But as I sat there reading to these two strangers, I felt the sense that all three of us were pulling for her. It was fantastic. I can't wait to do this in front of a WHOLE BUNCH of people, I really can't.

And so now I must issue a caveat of sorts, because I have many friends from high school who check in here, and are now probably going to want to go. And to these dear and very sincerely cherished friends I will say: I may or may NOT be talking about you. But you -- I am definitely talking about. And YOU might be utterly horrified, even though I kind of admitted a lot of this to you already, years ago, when we were both kinda drunk.

Enter at your own risk.

lisamcc at 8:54 p.m.



6 comments so far
Craig Bostick
2009-02-05 02:55:23
I think it's awesome and I totally want to go. Can't wait!
-------------------------------

Mike Burchett
2009-02-05 03:02:53
You's got some Blago sized cajones. Rock & Roll.
-------------------------------

shari
2009-02-05 22:13:33
You totally need to let me know when this happens, I so wanna go!
-------------------------------

Mumma
2009-02-06 00:34:23
Damn...in a month? Couldn't you wait til...oh, say maybe May?
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2009-02-07 01:25:56
Mortified is a great show! How awesome that you're going to be part of it!
-------------------------------

Jess
2009-02-08 01:56:05
I actually burned my diaries after finishing them as a teenager because I KNEW I'd read them as an adult and laugh at me. I was right, heh. I would have.
-------------------------------

previous | next