2008-12-01

It went.

So you're all (all 9 of you) probably just chompin' at the bit to find out how my high school reunion went.

I had enough good sense to go in there with not much in the way of expectations. There were no touching, tearful confessions of unrequited love and/or regrets. But nobody came up and told me how full of shit I was, either. And there were a couple of moments both amusing and oddly profound.

On the plus side, I wasn't drinking. I woke up Sunday morning remembering all of my conversations, and not being especially embarrassed by any of them. Existing friendships were strengthened, and there's one person in particular that I sincerely hope I'll stay in touch with now going forward. Interestingly, he said maybe four words to me the entire time we were in school together.

I had one classmate nearly knock me over to thank me for some piece of advice I'd given her during a random encounter in a bar 10 years ago. I have NO recollection of this. I cannot possibly imagine that I was capable of delivering any sort of sagacious counsel back then (since it usually began with "Lissshen...you wanna know whut yer PROBLEM isssh?"), but she was genuinely grateful, so I just smiled beatifically and said, "Wow. Glad I could help."

People that I had next to no contact with back then remembered who I was strictly because of my hair. I commented on this late in the evening to my friend Ethan, who replied, "Well, yeah. Your hair WAS pretty memorable."

The end of the night kind of said it all. Members of the football team had gathered in a circle on the dance floor and were pointing and bellowing at one another. No actual WORDS...it was just bellowing. And I looked around the table I was sitting at and realized that about half of the Math Team was there. We all stared at one another, perplexed.

It may as well have been the cafeteria, circa 1988.

lisamcc at 12:24 p.m.



6 comments so far
Christine
2008-12-02 01:34:17
Your end of the night summary is perfect. Joanne and I were sitting at a table by ourselves watching it unfold - I think you referred to it as mating calls or something. anyway great to see you. I wandered around a lot didn't necessarily catch up with anyone fully. :-)
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-12-02 02:29:24
It was seriously like something on the "National Geographic" channel.

"...and now, the males gather to summon the females with their plaintive bellowing. Failing to attract potential mates, they just bellow at one another until one of them vomits or passes out."
-------------------------------

Tina
2008-12-02 13:34:01
"there's one person in particular that I sincerely hope I'll stay in touch with now going forward" Inquiring minds....
-------------------------------

voodoo
2008-12-02 20:41:13
Glad that things went ok in the end :-)
-------------------------------

Rebecca H.
2008-12-03 16:54:14
I thought of this post last night as I watched the video from my senior year that a classmate had burned to DVD and sent to me. My 20th reunion is this summer, and I considering going and expect to see some of the very same behaviors that you saw.
-------------------------------

Mattyp
2008-12-04 19:00:14
Wonderful update Lisa. Makes me even more thrilled I decided to stay home! Can't wait to see the same pack of bellowers at our 50th.
-------------------------------

previous | next