2008-10-14

Once I had a love, and it was a gas. Soon it turned out to be the Child of Glass.

Here.

You're welcome.

I spent a goodly chunk of Columbus Day on this site, which is dedicated to all the things that scarred us as children (toys, tv shows, horror movies aired at times they probably shouldn't have been). I giggled, I shuddered, and then I came upon a section devoted to a film that I have not seen in 30 years.

Some of you may be too young to remember what life was like in 1978. It was a simpler time. The US dollar had plunged to record lows, the country was just emerging from a major oil crisis, and the average cost of a new home was around $50K. We liked tv shows about people who lived a loooonnnnng time ago, such as Laura Ingalls Wilder, the Waltons, and Richie Cunningham.

And "The Wonderful World of Disney" would air some really, profoundly fucked-up shit.

This little blue ghost girl has occupied a wee corner of my brain for lo these many years. It's one of those things that I thought maybe I hallucinated (as I was frequently ill with some kind of rare gack in those days). Now I come to find that it REALLY HAPPENED. So you see, chickens, the internets is a HAPPY PLACE. For every browser-crashing, crappily-designed MySpace page, there is a little nugget of messed-up goodness.

"Alexanduhhhh, I am beeeing kept fwum my etuhnal west!"

This HAS to exist on DVD somewhere. It just HAS to...

lisamcc at 8:22 a.m.



4 comments so far
Rebecca
2008-10-14 17:13:24
OMG! I'd not thought of this movie for a long time. The finding of the doll in the well is what haunted my dreams for years.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-10-14 17:23:58
God, I'd forgotten about that. But wasn't it full of diamonds or something? Shit -- I gotta find this movie.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2008-10-14 19:42:51
The last time I was at Universal, I was waiting in line for the lame-ass haunted house, and what did I see preserved in a glass case in their little memorabilia display but that African doll that killed Karen Black in Trilogy of Terror! I couldn't look at it, lest I grant it permission once again to rule my nightmares.
-------------------------------

Stephen
2008-10-15 00:42:26
It's on VHS at amazon. And on DVD at this rather sketchy looking site: http://www.treasureflix.com/_Child_of_Glass.html?gclid=CJOR5PL_p5YCFQGHHgodvgN7zw
-------------------------------

previous | next