2008-10-01

Why are(n't) you running away?

In the midst of all this financial fuckery and economic woe, I will say that there is one chunk o' happy to grab onto:

Pumpkin muffins are back at Dunkin' Donuts.

Of course, their arrival couldn't come at a worse time. I'm not actively trying to shed pounds, but I am in need of a little...tightening up here and there...and my 20-year high school reunion is a-loomin'. As I've said, I am still shallow enough to care what I look like in a room full of people who barely knew who I was twenty years ago, and probably won't talk to me even NOW.

And, okay, am I just cheap and tacky or is 50 bucks a head a little on the steep side for this sort of thing? Are there going to be bacon-wrapped scallops for that kind of money?

So, there's that. Meanwhile, I went to Neiman's and paid more than I could afford for Jo Malone's "Vintage Gardenia," (because while I balk at paying one hundred dollars to be smirked at over mediocre Merlot and tepid crabcakes, I WILL shell out just about that amount to smell good) and received two vials of the new "Fresh Lime & Cedar" for my trouble. It was a little too woodsy for me, but Vikki's all about woodsy, so I mailed them off to her.

And those fuckers at Bvlgari DISCONTINUED Eau Parfumee au The Rouge, which I LOVE, but then that means it'll wind up at Marshall's for $24.99, so that's GOOD, right? I know -- cheap and tacky. I should show up at this reunion wearing pantyhose with open-toed shoes, and some drecky, throat-closing fragrance sold at Walgreen's.

Finally, Foot Foot's been doing this crazy-assed dance move where she arches her back and lurches to the side while her eyes bug out. She looks for all the world like the rabid dog in "To Kill A Mockingbird." I have tried, and failed, to find this clip on YouTube, so you'll just have to take my word for it. It is absolutely the most hilarious thing ever.

And then MY favorite thing to do lately is serenade Foot Foot with Pink Floyd's "Don't Leave Me Now" in the morning when I'm getting ready to go to work.

Her ears sort of flatten and she looks at me like I'm completely cracked, but she doesn't run away. It's as if she can't quite decide if she HATES it or not. And isn't that just the way with Pink Floyd?

lisamcc at 11:28 a.m.



2 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2008-10-01 23:26:55
Thanks again for the samples, and thanks for NOT saying that I am "all about the WOOD," which would no doubt prompt a slew of double entendre from the beau.
-------------------------------

Suldog
2008-10-02 16:35:23
Hello! I've once again begun our battle to try and stay sane during the time leading up to Christmas. If you'd like to join in again, that would be nice... http://jimsuldog.blogspot.com/2008/10/thanksgiving-comes-first.html
-------------------------------

previous | next