2008-08-25

Cake.

Greetings from Nashville.

Please kill me.

I'll begin my travelogue in earnest tomorrow, with pictures, but right now, I'm in bed, in my pajamas, eating chocolate cake and trying not to weep. It's been a very long day.

For reasons still unknown, I was not able to take the flight that had been originally scheduled, resulting in my spending nearly seven hours at Logan Airport, before boarding an Embraer 145 (for those not familiar with aircraft, this is a 50-seater about the size of a multivitamin) that smelled like bad breath and rec room carpet.

There were a couple of high points, though. Because I have learned -- from my own travels as well as from several relatives employed by various airlines -- that it is always better to be unfailingly polite to airline employees no matter how frustrating the situation, both my breakfast and lunch at Logan were on Delta.

Here's where six years of being "in recovery" come in handy for me. I dealt with it. I didn't huff and whine and ruin somebody else's day because I couldn't get to Nashville the way it was spelled out on my itinerary. What are you gonna do? Shit happens. Let's find another way to get there. You say this with a smile, you thank the agent for finding you a direct flight (even if it's 6 hours later), and she gives you free meal vouchers.

Now, I can't say that I was quite such a big girl once I was in the relative quiet and seclusion of my room, but I only kinda cried for, like, a minute. And then I went and got cake.

Anyway. The Gaylord. Christ almighty, this place is fuckin' YOOGE. I will have pics aplenty tomorrow. Tomorrow morning I get to go to a session about "E-Philanthropy."

But now I need to finish my cake.

lisamcc at 9:31 p.m.



1 comments so far
V
2008-08-26 15:34:56
If it makes you feel better everytime I fly though Newark I get stuck in Dant's 5th level of the inferno. I have had to stay overnight and get up at 3am, sit on the runway for hours, and now my newest and best plan of attack - take amtrak home. Rather sit on the train moving then sit in the Newark airport going nowhere...good luck with the rest of your trip
-------------------------------

previous | next