2008-07-20

They're dead: they're all messed up.

Because I don't have enough perfume already, I found myself poking around Marshall's today, even though I know that if something has wound up at Marshall's, there's usually a good reason. Experience has taught me this. I bought a bottle of Liz Claiborne's "Realities," which smelled for all the world like the inside of my grandmother's purse. I wore it once, then stuck the bottle back in the box and gave it away.

A great many "celebrity" fragrances wind up at Marshall's. Britney, Liz, Sarah Jessica Parker. I saw two from Paris Hilton -- "Can Can," and "Heiress." There was an open bottle of the latter, and it smelled like a Del Monte fruitcup that had been left out all afternoon. Celebs can't seem to steer clear of sticking their names on stuff that smells like a dessert topping (the notable exception being La Lopez; as ashamed as I am to admit it, J.Lo's "Glow" is a very nice, very clean scent -- one that I've taken an extended leave from for, well, ethical reasons, but I have yet to find something else that fills that void on my dresser).

On this subject: I also finally got to sample Mariah Carey's "M" and was underwhelmed. I fully expected to hate it, but I didn't. On me, it's rather heavy; I didn't get Whiff One of the much-discussed marshmallow note. It's a pleasant-enough "floriental." So, you know, props to Mariah for not going the "canned peaches and cheap shampoo" route.

I'd really like to find something to see me through the rest of the summer. I'm intrigued by Cabotine de Gres, but there are also about a zillion bottles of the stuff at Marshall's, which gives me pause. Still, at $10.99 I can probably afford to find out if it's a mistake.

On a less-cosmetic note, I punched in George Romero's "Diary of the Dead" on pay-per-view this afternoon (because sometimes a girl just needs to get her zombie on), and...meh. A little less "organic" and a little too reliant on CGI, than what I like to see in my lurching, groaning undead. I might've been better off just watching the 30-Second-Bunnies-Theatre version of "Night of the Living Dead."


lisamcc at 5:06 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next