2008-07-18

Just Say NO to Crocs...

About a year or so ago, my dearest Vikki got me hep to the I Hate Crocs website. I chuckled, I guffawed, I shed one tiny tear in gratitude that here was a community of like-minded folks, puzzled beyond belief as to why gardening clogs had all of a sudden kicked open that garden gate and attached themselves to the feet of those who DON'T do any gardening.

So I bought a tshirt from them. It reads: FRIENDS DON'T LET FRIENDS WEAR CROCS. Let me tell you - I wear this on the Orange Line, and I get dirty looks aplenty. It's FANTASTIC.

Pro-Croc people get REALLY uptight about anyone criticizing their choice in footwear. "They're COMFORTABLE!" they cry. They're vegetarian-friendly. They justify it seven ways to Sunday. They remind me that there's a WAR going on, and shouldn't I be more concerned about that than in making fun of the fact that they're walking around in giant, meatloaf-shaped plastic clogs?

Yes - I make fun of them because I'm shallow and catty, and also because they're UGLY. And I fully realize that there are plenty of people who give ME the once-over and think: "Ugh, another tattooed retro dipshit." It wouldn't be the first time I've been accused of preferring style over substance.

But understand that I am not completely anti-Croc. There are three examples of acceptable Croc wearage: on small children, on medical personnel, and on people who are WORKING IN THEIR YARDS.

lisamcc at 11:10 a.m.



2 comments so far
Houseboy
2008-07-18 20:37:10
I would say that small children with medical conditions working in their yards are allowed to wear crocs. Otherwise, No No NO!
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2008-07-22 00:32:06
Ever since my beloved British version of "What Not to Wear" went belly-up, I have had to content myself with the paler, more lackluster American version. Even so, I squealed with delight when a recent episode saw Clinton and Stacy force a woman to not only throw away her Crocs, but her Uggs as well!
-------------------------------

previous | next