2008-07-14

Awfulsome.

I spent a good chunk of yesterday with PK, something I simply do not get to do much since the bitch moved to Los Angeles a couple of years ago.

We talked about everything, we talked about nothing. And it didn't take very long before the conversation turned quite disgusting, but before it did, I learned a couple of things:

Eric Carmen. Dude lifts from Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No.2 in "All By Myself." I don't know how I hadn't picked up on this before, but we sat there on the couch listening to Rachmaninoff (because we're fucking classy like that), and I shrieked like a little bitch when PK pointed it out.

In doing a quick Google search, I did discover that Carmen totally cops to this, which sort of takes the winds of righteous indignation outta my sails. Bleh. He's still a tool. I'm all for appropriation ordinarily - I couldn't call myself a Negativland fan otherwise - but not if you're appropriating something lovely to make something else that just SUCKS.

And so that somehow led to what has been something of a sticky wicket in our otherwise tried-tested-and-ever-true friendship: Styx. I love 'em. PK thinks they suck eight kinds of dirty ass through a Crazy Straw caked on the inside with old, sour milk. I managed to get her to concede that "Don't Let It End," despite its appearance on "Kilroy Was Here," is a pretty fuckin' good song, all things considered.

HEY TOMMY SHAW - NICE SHOULDER PADS, YOU DICK.

If Dennis DeYoung hadn't been in Styx, he totally would've been your vaguely creepy chorus teacher in high school. Scratch that -- JUNIOR high school. But fuck it; I loves me some Styx, and I simply do not understand how someone who unapologetically loves AIR SUPPLY can turn around and besmirch the Styx. It is something upon which we shall never agree, PK and I.

So now THIS led to a long discussion about the concept of "awfulsome," or that which is so awful, it's awesome. The aforementioned "Kilroy Is Here" rekkid falls into this category, in my opinion. PK would disagree.

After some back-and-forth, we came to an agreement of sorts about Foreigner. "Cold As Ice" and "Hot Blooded" - awfulsome. "I Want To Know What Love Is" - beyond awful. Never should have happened. A sonic abomination rivaled only by this:

My God, I can't believe I even posted that. I'm really, really sorry.

Today I was at Whole Foods, and as I stood in line, I noticed this guy in the checkout one over. He had short, graying hair, except for ONE LONG DREADLOCK at the nape of his neck, which was twisted into a turd-like coil with an elastic. I wanted to cry. I wanted to laugh. I wanted to hurl. Here on this dude's head was an amalgamative coiffure representing every bad white guy 'do on every crappy boyfriend I'd ever had. It was breathtaking.

It was the very epitome of awfulsome.

lisamcc at 7:34 p.m.



3 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2008-07-17 01:21:35
Ooooh, I love me some Styx, although I love the 70s Styx and think they jumped the shark in the 80s, so I suspect we still differ on the whold subject of Styx. How can you not love "Suite Madam Blue"???!!! Eleventy-six different kinds of awesome!
-------------------------------

PK
2008-07-21 06:48:22
Kevin Cronin's hair seriously just made me nauseous. I challenge you to find a worse look from ANY era. I mean it. I'd rather look up a sick elephant's anus.
-------------------------------

Beauty Junkie
2008-07-22 21:48:42
Don't forget, the guy from Night Ranger. I'm too tired to look up his name but he qualifies as well! Or so I think ;)
-------------------------------

previous | next