2008-06-22

Wrecked, but happy.

Well, we did it. "West Side Story" in 5 minutes (give or take 15-20 seconds). There were kazoos, ridiculous wigs, "disappearing knives" that didn't quite "disappear" whenever *I* was the one getting stabbed.

If you haven't been tuning in, three of my oldest friends and I "performed" at our high school drama teacher's retirement party last night. Inspired, in part, by the magic of 30-Second Bunnies Theatre as well as the stage production of "The 39 Steps," the four of us endeavored to capture the spirit, if not the ESSENCE, of "West Side Story" in five minutes, with Becky and Michael playing Maria and Tony, and Jon and I playing...well...everybody else.

It was completely stupid. And the audience totally fucking ate it up.

I learned several lessons from this:

1) Never underestimate the power of broad, physical comedy.

2) Never underestimate the power of kazoos.

3) I have the best friends a girl could ever ask for.

4) I am totally not 16 years old anymore.

Yeah...that last point? I am sore today. Stiff, and sore, and covered in bruises and tiny little welts. Becky emailed me this morning: "you definitely took the bulk of the abuse."

And yet, in my dewy acting daze, I did this sort of thing night after night, and was seemingly none the worse for wear. Now I've got bruised knees and elbows, a puncture wound on my left arm from the aforementioned faulty disappearing knife, and a big bluish knot on my forehead, from falling face-first against the edge of my solid mahogany closet door this afternoon as I was trying to wedge the trunk full of props back into the closet. I was shaky and sore and lost my balance and...WHACK. Yeah, we'll be making sure the bangs cover that for the next few days.

I look like I've had the ever-loving shit beaten out of me, I do. But you know what -- I had a blast, and I would do it again in a heartbeat.

We always knew we were luckier than most as far as John Higgins was concerned. He created a safe haven for us misfits, clowns, and wanna-be thespians. He sank his time and his energy and his seemingly ceaseless compassion into us, teaching us to think on our feet, work as a team, and try our best. As another former student put it last night, John Higgins treated you like the person you were GOING to become.

I watched the other performances and chatted with old classmates and was struck by the range of people who came back to pay their respects. Some went into "the business," others chose to teach, still others weren't doing much in the way of performing at all anymore, but were quick to point out the ways in which the Drama Club helped them as they charted completely different life courses.

When we finished our ridiculous little routine and headed back to our table, sweaty and beaming at one another, we were immediately inundated with accolades from people we didn't even know. And from the people who knew us all too well. There's nothing better than seeing people poke fun at themselves, and at the starry-eyed teenagers they used to be. Another former student, who performed with us in the very same 1986 production we were spoofing, said he was amazed that the four of us still played off of one another the way we did back then. And he's right -- we do. It's been a long time since I've laughed as hard as I did these past couple of nights leading up to the big show. I'm sore and look like something that's been tied to the bumper of an old Impala and dragged several hundred yards on rough road, but Christ I had a good time.

And today I spent a good few hours with darling Brian, who came up from New York to be there with us. Top of my gratitude list is the fact that these wonderful, brilliant, hilarious people are still a part of my life, and these friendships are the direct result of having John Higgins as my drama teacher.


"Theatre is a great place to teach so many things: commitment, self-sacrifice, self-discipline and creativity...even if you never appear on stage. Kids take away from drama what they want and need to move along in life...maybe it's getting rid of shyness, maybe it's as simple as making new friends."
--Mr. Higgins

lisamcc at 9:01 p.m.



3 comments so far
Joanna Lovinger
2008-06-23 04:50:57
Hi Lisa. Wish I could have been at the party last night. It sounds like you guys did a fantastic job! And isn't the whole aging thing bizarro? I hurt my elbow tonight MAKING PASTA SALAD. wtf? If there are any photos from last night, please be sure to post them. Thx ,Joanna
-------------------------------

Tina
2008-06-23 23:05:58
Is it on youtube yet?
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-06-24 02:49:50
Joanna - I'm trying, and failing, to imagine what it is you DID to sustain such an injury.

Tina -- good God I hope not.
-------------------------------

previous | next