2008-04-07

Because I WANTED it, that's why...

I have this...THING...about Marshalls.

My experience at Marshall's, much like at DSW or TJ Maxx, is generally dictated by two things:

1) Location. The Marshalls I most frequently hit is located on a main pedestrian/tourist thoroughfare -- directly across from a Filene's Basement -- and as such, it's usually pretty picked over, no matter what day or what time of day I go in.

2) My Expendable Cash Situation (ECS). If I go into Marshalls with a fat and flush ECS, I can be certain that I will not find anything worth blowing my proverbial wad all over. Conversely, if I go in with a null-to-void ECS, like towards the end of the month, when I'm collecting loose change from under the sofa cushions to buy lattes, the store will be chock-a-block with amazing finds.

Recently, though, I found myself in one of those situations where you don't NEED a certain something, but the certain something is so perfect, that you throw caution (and your ECS) to the wind.

Mish and I both bought rainboots at the Filene's Basement on Boylston Street. Cute, cheap faux-wellies with dumbass patterns. Across the street at Marshalls, we found MATCHING UMBRELLAS. I needed rainboots. I did NOT need an umbrella. But, I mean...really. Really.

You TELL me what YOU would have done if you were in my position. Because I don't have to tell YOU now what I did. Sometimes, I am all about pleasing this little girl who lives inside of me:

Yes, the one that thinks nothing of wearing frilly party dresses to hockey games. She reallyreallyREALLY wanted an umbrella to match her rainboots. And it was only EIGHT BUCKS. That's a whole lot of happy for the price.

I look at them in the mudroom and I feel just like this:

Except for maybe the agonized screaming at the end. Oh, and the gunshot. Really I was just looking for an excuse to post another "Evil Dead II" clip. Sue me.

lisamcc at 9:02 p.m.



7 comments so far
mumma
2008-04-07 21:59:58
Where is the hell did that picture come from? I remember the hockey game, but we never had a carpet like that...you sure that's you? Of course, it is, I know that...just don't know where the picture was taken...
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-04-08 07:37:23
Errrr, Gramma and Grampa's house, wasn't it? I got this picture from Auntie Marge.
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2008-04-08 15:03:35
I love how your mom is all, "WHERE THE HELL DID THAT PICTURE COME FROM?" hahaha!
-------------------------------

Bill
2008-04-08 22:54:12
I have this strong urge to say "get your sticky hands off my new hockey game!"
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2008-04-09 15:58:56
Bill - I'm frankly shocked that you let me anywhere near it.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2008-04-11 12:33:47
As long as you don't buy the matching handbag...
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-04-14 22:13:41
Ah...that Filenes is now occupying what was once the HR department of my company. Odd, that. I work up in that thar building. Well, did. And do when I'm in Boston. Worked there for 21 yrs. And will probably come down with some rare form of incurable because of it. Happy shopping!
-------------------------------

previous | next