2008-02-11

Beep beep. Who got the keys to the Jeep?

I don't know if it's the blistering cold, or the lack of sleep, or a combination of the two, but the world is totally chafing my nonexistent 'nads today, like a scratchy care label on the back of a sweater. Only where I'd be able to cut out the label in the sweater because I don't need to be reminded how to care for it, the world -- alas -- is not something I can remember to take to the cleaners.

As a rule, I don't discuss politics at work. Even though roughly 98.765% of my coworkers share my particular worldview, I just don't go there with them. And so when a colleague of mine started theorizing that a McCain/Clinton race would be a veritable shitstorm because she's a woman ("and that's totally sexist and it just makes me SO mad"), I had to look up from my desk -- where I'd been spending the last 8 minutes with my head in my hands, rubbing my temples like pieces of tarnished wedding silverware -- and correct him: "No. It would be a shitstorm NOT because she's a woman, but because she's a CLINTON. I'm no fan of McCain, but let's not make things quite so glib and simple here."
"Oh. Well. I guess you're right."

(You know, it's sort of like when distant, well-meaning relatives would forward me emails about junkies leaving their works in movie theater seats and payphone coin slots. I'd patiently refer them to snopes.com, advise them to check that site before forwarding something that's pretty highly unlikely, and after doing this a couple of times I dropped off their "CC" lists. I'm hoping for a similar outcome regarding the Not-Quite-McLaughlin-Group which has been assembling outside of my cubicle every morning since Edwards dropped out.)

And then earlier, when I cut through the Copley Mall, I saw a gaggle of preteen girls taking turns photographing one another under the giant silver logo at the Yves Saint Laurent store. It just struck me as utterly PERVERSE, especially considering that their mothers were standing off to the side, beaming as if they were watching their daughters collect top honors at the science fair. It gave me the chills, it really did.

But things aren't all that bad, I know. They are, after all, still making Andy Capp Pub Fries.

Amy Winehouse won a metric assload of Grammys last night, and showed up with all of her teeth and looking like she'd had a bath in the last 36 hours.

And this is still probably the greatest video ever made (I post it here now for my sister):

When life hands you lemons, watch a Missy Elliott video. Or something like that. The world is a beautiful place.

lisamcc at 1:05 p.m.



3 comments so far
Bill
2008-02-11 23:29:51
Oddly enough, that video reminded me I'm out of garbage bags. Though I don't think I can make a (late 90s) cool outfit out of the 13 gallon ones I usually buy...
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2008-02-12 11:27:06
Man, I feel ya on the whole email thing, and I have also discovered that it takes only a few referrals to Snopes before I am mercifully dropped off the distribution list for being a killjoy. As far as the whole Hillary thing is concerned, I think you are right. Hillary isn't just a woman, she's a REVILED woman. From the start she was seen as icy and uppity, and there's nothing most men and good percentage of women hate more than that. And also, the thought of replaying the Republican shenigans of the Clinton years just exhausts me.
-------------------------------

Lynette
2008-03-24 23:46:38
I love Missy.
-------------------------------

previous | next