2007-12-26

Ghost Town

It's December 26th, and I'm at work.

I would piss and moan about this, but in reality, it's really kind of AWESOME. This post notwithstanding, I'm getting a BUNCH of stuff done. There's one or two other people here, but they're way over on the other side of the office. I could sit here all day stripped to my skivvies, and no one would be the wiser.

I semi-voluntarily work these dead silent days between Christmas and New Year's. The nature of my job is such that I really sort of have to be here, because of calendar-year-end processing and tracking stock gifts and all that other stuff that people don't want to hear about when they ask me how work is going.

But I have to say, I look forward to these 3 or 4 days of being totally and completely left alone. Nobody asks me to come look at her screen and verify that something is "wonky." Nobody asks me what the copier code is, how much we raised in FY03, or where he might find a postage stamp. I sit in near-darkness, undisturbed and unmolested, like a fungus.

It's fucking BRILLIANT.

lisamcc at 12:41 p.m.



3 comments so far
Spooney
2007-12-26 14:46:31
I hear ya, I'm working too & neither of my bosses are here & I'm stripped to my skivvies! It's soooooo quiet & peaceful. It'll be like this the rest of the week.
-------------------------------

blue
2007-12-26 15:16:05
kudos, but ya can't disparage hanging with the family.
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-12-27 10:31:21
I'm working too, but I work at home and my husband is on vacation this week, so it is NOT EXACTLY QUIET AROUND HERE... (damn you, XBox!!)
-------------------------------

previous | next