2007-12-20

I've got your "sugar" right here...

It's not even OFFICIALLY winter yet and I'm already tired of winter.


MAKE IT STOP MOMMY.

Each morning, I open my closet and look longingly at my cute shoes, sigh heavily, and then go into the mudroom off the kitchen and put on my giant, ugly mud-and-salt-splattered clodhoppers.

It's terrible.

On my way home tonight, I passed a bank of boxes full of free weeklies/monthlies, and one of these publications (a particularly odious "woman-centric" paper that's just recently invaded our city) advised me to "be the SUGAR, not the SUBSTITUTE."

"Oh, fuck you," I said, before flinging it into the next available trash receptacle.

lisamcc at 7:32 p.m.



4 comments so far
Toddlington
2007-12-21 11:50:11
I miss chickens. Sniffle, sniffle. That said, I'm going to put on my cute shoes, forgo a sweater because it's warmish, and drive to Biloxi. I believe I will listen to the non-PC song that goes, "Need a little sugar ... in my bowl. I need a little hot dog ... between my rolls..." You should come!
-------------------------------

Lynette
2007-12-21 01:04:42
BE the sugar. Holy crap. Was that written by some pageant mom from down MY way???
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-12-21 08:06:43
Oh, I know. I was absolutely stupefied by its pithiness.
-------------------------------

Jess
2007-12-28 14:00:59
Meanwhile, I kind of miss snow! Like, a day or two of snow. Not a season of it.
-------------------------------

previous | next