2007-11-21

My Tradition.

Everyone's got his or her traditions for Thanksgiving...or culinary specialty, if you will. It is a time for the improbable: yea, a time when you think nothing of serving vegetables topped with mini-marshmallows, vegetables suspended in terrifying gelatin formations, vegetables drowned in cream-of-some-other-kind-of-vegetable soup and covered in crushed potato chips. And yet, if you propose bringing a SALAD to the festivities, you will be regarded with horror, as if you've suggested honey-braised infant limbs (topped with french-fried onions). Because on Thanksgiving, all vegetables must be beaten, boiled, incinerated and served with something that will leave oily little pools on your plate. That's a RULE. Look it up.

Three years ago, I started the tradition that PK calls "The Gay-Assed Stupid Little Turkeys." Last year, they went a little something like this:

This year, I altered the construction somewhat, using fewer candy corns (more than three, and you're having to "glue" the tail feathers back on because they invariably fall off during transport), and adding a dried cranberry "waddle." Because I'm fucking crafty like that.

It also helps enormously to wear a stupid hat.

I brought a mess of 'em into work this morning, and ran around being the "Gay-Assed Stupid Little Turkey Fairy," bringing gay-assed stupid little turkeys to all the good little children (or at least the ones who showed up at the office today). Like my coworkers don't already suspect that I'm completely insane...

lisamcc at 7:33 p.m.



4 comments so far
Andrea
2007-11-21 19:50:08
I wish the Gay-Assed Stupid Little Turkey Fairy would come to my house! Those are totally awesome.
-------------------------------

Tina
2007-11-21 19:58:45
I LOVE those things! I bought the makings for them today and the kidlets and I are going to make them in the morning. We are using candy coated peanuts for the waddle... and I could find (read here: afford) chocolate covered cherries, so we're using mini peanut butter cups. Yum.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-11-21 20:04:47
For real? The cherries I got at CVS were dirt cheap ($1.99 a box). I mean, they probably taste like ASS, but still...
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-11-25 16:25:27
omg, my first-grade nephew totally made those in his class the other day!!
-------------------------------

previous | next