2007-11-16

Amnesia Lane

I'm going to be seeing two of my dearest friends from high school tomorrow night, Michael and Jon. We're going to eat some heavy, greasy food, laugh like hell and then go see Hingham High School Drama Club's production of Urinetown. I've had me a fairly dismal week, so I couldn't be happier about this. There's something enormously comforting about spending time with people who've known you for decades, but still love you anyway.

So in keeping with what's going to be "Rampant, Galloping Nostalgia Weekend," I figured I'd raid YouTube and cough up what would've been a typical evening for me, circa '85, babysitting for the next-door neighbors. It's probably around 8pm, Ian's been fed, changed and put to bed. It's not Philip's bedtime yet, but he'll watch whatever I watch. Grab yourselves a bag o' chips, settle in on the couch and enjoy:


Why don't we have this station anymore? Why? WHY?!


Charlie Sexton is, was, and will always be the SHIT, y'all.


I just had to put this one in there for my sister. Bah ha HA!

lisamcc at 10:48 a.m.



5 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2007-11-16 12:12:15
Geez, girl, I forgot there even was such a thing as a Charlie Sexton.
-------------------------------

vikkitikkitavi
2007-11-16 12:13:31
Oh, I forgot to say that I saw a touring production of Urinetown, and I loved it! I was pleasantly surprised.
-------------------------------

lj lindhurst
2007-11-16 13:37:27
fuck yeah! Charlie Sexton is/was/will always be HOT!
-------------------------------

Tina
2007-11-16 21:16:18
Casey and I were going to go see that Urinetown tonight, but it got pushed off. maybe I'll be there tomorrow, too! That video makes me feel more nostalgic than you know!
-------------------------------

Some Assembly Required
2007-11-17 10:35:19
Wow, V66. If I remember right, they were an over-the-air station, so you didn't need cable, which I didn't have until much later. The albums in the Coop commercial and the sale info peg it to the fall of 1985, at which time I was in fact working at the Coop, making seeing this all the more freaky.
-------------------------------

previous | next