2007-10-10

Well, HELLO!

If I haven't said this before, it STILL bears repeating:

HOW...in the HELL did we survive without YouTube?

Nearly every day, someone points me toward something that I'd forgotten, or didn't even know existed. Yesterday, Scurvy reminded me that one of our favorite bands in them crazy 90's - Scarce - actually did have a video (which I've watched about a billion times since she brought it to my attention). Jesus H. I loved that band.

And then there's the matter of Brenda Dickson.

If you haven't bothered to click through to the Wikipedia entry, I'll summarize: she was on "The Young & The Restless." But at the height of her soapy powers, she made a truly unbelievable video entitled "Welcome To My Home."

Well, hello! Do you get the idea that banging Brenda Dickson is about as exciting as watching televised golf? I sure do! That voice of hers is enough to leave me drier than the Moab.

I knew women like Brenda Dickson in college. They worked out in full makeup, belonged to the Circle K Club and listened to Steve Winwood. Repeatedly.

This is, quite possibly, the most terrifying thing I've ever seen. And yet Mish and I are completely obsessed with this video. Brenda has almost usurped those fucking "LOL cats" as the primary source of our communications with one another during the work day. You would not think to look at the two of us, but Mish and I are basically the same person. We totally have our own language. Like psychic twins. Or Navajo Code Talkers. If you are not versed in cheezburger-speak, or Brenda Dickson, you will not understand ANYTHING that Mish and I say to one another. It's safer that way.



"I wear black on the outside because black is how I feel on the insiiiiide..." Dag. Do I look like a shagged-out denizen of the undead here or what? Get that girl some conditioner and a bottle of self-tanner, stat. Maybe I DO need Brenda Dickson's help after all...

lisamcc at 7:14 a.m.



4 comments so far
HRH Nettie
2007-10-10 15:23:02
Oh my dear little bunyip. I laughed so hard at your comment to this picture. But then I pretty much laugh hard at anything you say or type. I adore you. No really. KC should be worried.
-------------------------------

Lexi
2007-10-10 18:21:28
"In shopping, you'll find that your eye will be drawn to the looks you like." Oh, really, so...I'll LIKE it, and that is how I'll know I like it?? Thanks for the fucking public service announcement. This video is...appalling. I thought I found a winner with "Doggy Poo." You win.
-------------------------------

LisaMcC
2007-10-10 18:51:34
No...do not doubt the sincere altruism of Brenda Dickson! She wants to HELP us. She wants to help us look like slightly over-the-hill Vegas showgirls who might be doing a little knob-polishing on the side to make ends meet. Those beaded frocks aren't cheap.
-------------------------------

mumma
2007-10-11 15:40:19
Oh, my...you have brought back such memories of my early days watching soaps when you kids were little...altho I believe Ms Dickson's 15 minutes of fame occurred before your arrival. She was on Y&Y when David Hasselhoff was the big sex hunk on afternoon tv. She was a sexy, pouty skinny li'l thing, and when she figured that Y&Y couldn't get along without her, she balked at signing a contract for more $$$. Well, they called her bluff and she disappeared, thankfully.
-------------------------------

previous | next