2007-09-26

We'll be the Pirate Twins again...

Holy shit. Thomas Dolby the other night. SO good.

I went with my friends Mish and Charles, and my gay boyfriend John Michael. John Michael and I are a "couple" for many reasons, not the least of which is the big, big love we have for tha Dolbz. I tell you, when you find somebody else who knows the Dolby catalog above and beyond "the hit," you wrap onto that person's leg and hump it from hell to breakfast. Mish and Charles went in with a sort of "why the hell not" attitude, and came out total converts (well, Mish did, anyway; she promptly went home and downloaded a mess of stuff).

I walked out of there all kinds of inspired. It made me want to, I don't know, bust the keyboard out of the closet and DO something, even though that's never been what I would call a primary instrument (and PK can attest to this). It's closer to the truth that I was inspired to do what I love, and have a fucking blast while doing it. You can make what you love your work. Persistence is involved...a scary word for somebody like me, who still wants to believe that if I hang around in a tight sweater, metaphorically speaking, someone will take care of everything else. A literary Lana Turner, if you will. But yes -- persistence, and self-confidence tendered with a decent amount of humility. This is what I took away from that show, and if I didn't love the guy enough already, I think I owe him one. I think. I'm pretty sure.

People can turn their noses up at the synth-pop all they want. There's nothing cold or impersonal about what Dolby does.

I've been to a lot of shows, and I've never seen anyone have so much fun being in front of an audience. Sure, he's got things sampled and archived up the wazoo, but it never felt less than spontaneous and joyful. Just a lot of mutual love and appreciation all around.

And it should be noted that he has a fantastic ass. I was with two gay men, and a woman every bit as piggish and lecherous as I, and we all agreed that Thomas Dolby has a spectacular dumper.

Oh, and he opened with "Airwaves." I cried!

lisamcc at 8:24 p.m.



4 comments so far
lj lindhurst
2007-09-27 09:37:54
more reasons we are separated at birth...I LOVE THOMAS DOLBY! The Flat Earth is one of my favorite records of all time, ever!! He's so underrated...
-------------------------------

btm
2007-09-27 10:28:47
so jealous. i hope he comes to boston! xoxo, d
-------------------------------

bathtubmary
2007-09-27 10:30:14
i realized that i just completely signed the wrong comments - he was in boston and i missed him. sorry about that! xo anyway, your lurking reader, d
-------------------------------

Momma
2007-09-28 11:21:22
How about "She Blinded Me With Science." That was always my favorite, especially the video.
-------------------------------

previous | next