2007-08-19

Death Kitteh

Yeah, I know I'm late to the party here, and that every "blawgher" and his or her, um, dog has covered this, but it's a Sunday afternoon, I'm fucking tired of packing, and I wanna talk about OSCAR THE DEATH CAT.

Quoth MSNBC: The 2-year-old feline was adopted as a kitten and grew up in a third-floor dementia unit at the Steere House Nursing and Rehabilitation Center. The facility treats people with Alzheimer�s, Parkinson�s disease and other illnesses...after about six months, the staff noticed Oscar would make his own rounds, just like the doctors and nurses. He�d sniff and observe patients, then sit beside people who would wind up dying in a few hours.

Okay, I know most people think, "Isn't that AMAZING? He's like an ANGEL, sent to accompany the dying into the Great Beyond."

Personally, I think it's CREEPY. And maybe I'm just a jaded, cynical, miserable little spore, but when I first heard this story I immediately thought, "Well, he's just in there SNUFFING THE LIFE OUTTA THEM." I mean, we've all heard about not letting Socks/Mittens/Pussytoes anywhere near the baby's crib, right?

Look, anyone who knows me knows I loves the kittehs. I would have at least two if the landlord allowed members of the feline persuasion into our building. I fully expect to be one of those crazy old women with a deep freeze full of dead cats, like something out of a Truman Capote story. And Oscar The Feline Grim Reaper is definitely cute. You just want to flip Death over and rub him furry widdle tummy, ess oo do.

But let's not overlook this little tidbit further on in the story: Most families are grateful for the advanced warning, although one wanted Oscar out of the room while a family member died. When Oscar is put outside, he paces and meows his displeasure.

That's because he is being DENIED FRESH SOULS.

Frankly, I just don't know how I feel about Oscar. It's certainly inspired some pretty tasteless "cat pics" out there on the interwebz. I humbly submit my own:

lisamcc at 1:19 p.m.



1 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2007-08-21 19:01:36
Okay, your LOL cat picture is pretty funny. But I'm not impressed by that cat's abilities. Because exactly how wrong can you be in a place like that?
-------------------------------

previous | next