2007-08-13

Hey jealousy

The houseboy got a spiffy new iPod Nano over the weekend, and I am insanely jealous. It's practically the size of a stick of gum, and it does everything but your laundry.

The thing is -- he needed it. His iPod shit the proverbial bed ages ago, and the poor dear has had to make do with a portable CD player the size of Mianus during his workouts. MY iPod (a first-generation Mini), on the other hand, has not given me a lick of trouble in the 2 1/2 years I've owned it. There is really no reason for me to get a Nano, other than the vague, unsettling feeling that people are laughing at me. My Mini looks cumbersome and antiquated, like I'm dragging around a TRS-80 and a dot-matrix line printer.

(An aside -- some time ago I stumbled upon this awesome simulator, which took me back to the days when my sister and I would go into the Radio Shack at the Harborlight Mall, plant little BASIC bombs on all the TRS-80s, and then run away giggling like the barely-post-adolescent badasses we were.

10 PRINT "I WANT EDDIE MONEY TO EAT ME OUT!"
20 GOTO 10
RUN

OMG we were such h4ck3rs LOL hehehe.

I digress.)

My point is that while I am a friend to all gadgets as a matter of course, I also recognize a need to be frugal and to apply the adage "If it ain't broke..." when applicable.

Even if it means carrying around an iPod the size of Mianus.

lisamcc at 3:03 p.m.



2 comments so far
grouse
2007-08-13 19:16:06
Let me get this straight... you envy the houseboy because his equipment is smaller?? Does he know this? Perhaps just the use of those two words together..."Small" "Equipment" might be enough to make him want to trade?
-------------------------------

Houseboy
2007-08-13 21:34:15
I'm not trading. This was her anniversary present to me.
-------------------------------

previous | next