2007-07-30

The return of the Hot Lovin' Express...

I spent most of today wrapping stuff up in newspapers and putting it in boxes, and then taping said boxes shut. When I wasn't doing that, I was spackling the nail holes in the walls (technically speaking, I don't have to do this -- we have to leave the apartment in "broom clean" condition, but because I had so much crap up on the walls I just feel sort of guilty).

I made one excursion out to the hardware store to buy polyurethane stain for all of the unfinished bookshelves we've acquired yet never bothered to properly...finish...so to speak. I've been a restoration FIEND in the last couple of weeks, sandpapering the fuck out of a couple of really neat pieces I picked up with the idea of restoring them to their former glory, but then ignored. I'll post some pictures later in the week (I'm sure you're all DYING to see them).

Another reason I'm glad we're moving -- the return of the "Hot Lovin' Express" upstairs. Our previous neighbors moved out a couple of months ago. Perfectly lovely people. But their bedroom was directly upstairs from ours, and every week or so, we'd be awakened by the sound of their raucous coupling. I can deal with ambient bed creaking noises, but the dude half of this couple was possessed of a sonorous dramatic baritone. His moans of pleasure reverberated through the floorboards, making me deeply embarrassed whenever he tried to chat me up over the recycling bins. It's not as if I'm a prude, and I understand that this is an indefatigable fact of apartment living. But it was icky.

At any rate they moved out, and for a couple of months the houseboy and I enjoyed the relative peace and quiet. Until this weekend, when a young lady moved in upstairs. She's evidently living there by herself. But last night we discovered that she has a boyfriend. We know this because the Hot Lovin' Express sped on through at around 11 o'clock. And from the sound of it, this young lady and her paramour are fond of throwing heavy, smallish, blunt objects around to enhance the experience: squeaksqueaksqueaksqueakTHUD!squeaksqueaksqueaksqueakTHUD!squeaksqueaksqueaksqueakTHUD THUD!squeaksqueaksqueaksqueakTHUD!

I lay in bed, staring in disbelief at the ceiling, while the houseboy slumbered, seemingly oblivious.

But then he woke me up this morning with a gentle kiss, before hollering: "ChugachugachugaWOO WOOOOO! It's the RETURN of the HOT LOVIN' EXPRESS!"

lisamcc at 6:02 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next