2007-07-19

Skylab

I've been an appointment-makin' fiend so far this summer. Doctors, rental agents...I've been steadily working towards overcoming my irrational fear of getting on the phone and doing stuff like this. I really kind of hate talking on the phone to people I don't know. The houseboy, as many of you know, is the only one who ever orders a pizza in our house. That's my next step.

But in the meantime, after almost a full year of talking out my ass about it, I made - and kept - my appointment with Justin at Fat Ram's to talk SKYLAB.

About 18 months ago, Justin started work on my right arm:

It's a nebula, although at the time of this photo, it was a very bruised nebula. There's actually no RED in this tattoo. I have known, pretty much from the moment I walked out of Fat Ram's that night, that the next phase would involve Skylab, which I have been obsessed with since I was little. It was just a matter of mustering the courage to make the next appointment. It's not a matter of me being afraid to GET the tattoo. I actually rather enjoy this, and Justin's "chairside manner" is second-to-none. No, again, it's just me being stupid about the phone.

BUT! Justin and I had a great chat yesterday. I brought in this picture, and we're basing the design - somewhat - on it:

Yeah, no -- I'm not getting a pinball machine tattooed on my arm. Just the actual Skylab part (although Justin seemed to be lobbying for the inclusion of the little astronaut), with a lot of black space and stars.

All told, we're looking at a quarter-sleeve, and approximately 3 hours in the chair. "Yeah, we can do this in one sitting," Justin said, knowing that I'm a fuckin' CHAMP when it comes to the pain. For real. I'm a brute.

The appointment is for October 4th. Justin has a YOOGE waiting list, as well he should.

Very excited.

lisamcc at 5:27 p.m.



1 comments so far
vikkitikkitavi
2007-07-20 11:56:48
Congratulations! You are now officially the nerdiest person I know!
-------------------------------

previous | next