2007-05-25

-

I was awakened, at approximately 3 AM, from deep slumber by the sound of the houseboy SCREAMING LIKE HE WAS BEING STABBED REPEATEDLY IN THE SPLEEN.

"What?! WHAT?!"

"Something just FLEW BY ME."

Frantic fumbling for lights. "JESUS FUCKING CHRIST IT'S A BAT!!"

Sure enough, circling around and around overhead was a mid-small-to-decent-sized, very confused, bat.

To my great good credit, I myself did not scream.

We scramble out of the bedroom into the kitchen. Houseboy closes the bedroom door. We can hear the bat flapping around.

"What should we do?"

"The fuck if I know."

And then, because I seemingly cannot do anything anymore without consulting the oracle of
teh internets, I offer to "google" for a solution. The houseboy looks strangely relieved.

After visiting a few wildlife-y sites, and learning a bit more than I needed to know about the dangers of bat guano, I instruct the houseboy to open up the bedroom windows, shut the bedroom door, and hope like hell that our friend will find its way out.

I am here to tell you that our pull-out sofa bed is actually quite comfortable.

I am going to assume that the bat got out. I may be sleeping in the living room again tonight.

lisamcc at 9:18 a.m.



4 comments so far
Momma
2007-05-25 11:54:22
Well, that's a first...never encountered a bat inside the house in my life. Don't think the sofa would have done it for me...direct me to the nearest Marriott. And, yes, that sofabed is very comfortable...
-------------------------------

grouse
2007-05-26 02:13:43
Ummm, you are aware that the bat might very well leave while you're asleep on the couch... but if it likes your bedroom, that's where it will return, via the open window, to nap through the day? Opening the window's the right thing to do, but maybe someone should stay in there to close the window after the bat leaves.
-------------------------------

cardiogirl
2007-05-27 07:30:16
Can't say I've ever encountered a bat in the house, but I have learned to push down the scream due to my kids. I want to set a good example, but my adrenaline still kicks up upon seeing nature's wildlife inside of my house.
-------------------------------

cardiogirl
2007-05-27 07:29:45
Can't say I've ever encountered a bat in the house, but I have learned to push down the scream due to my kids. I want to set a good example, but my adrenaline still kicks up upon seeing nature's wildlife inside of my house.
-------------------------------

previous | next