2006-07-11

More...crappy...poetry!

You want more crappy poetry from 1995? OF COURSE YOU DO!

Villanelle In Bohemia
I wear all black because I feel so low;
I live in a shithole and Dad pays my rent.
I'm cooler than anyone else that I know.

I don't have to convince you it's not just for show -
My Doc-Martened angst is very apparent.
I wear all black because I feel so low

about all of you sheep who just follow
the flock - so of course I'm indignant.
I'm cooler than anyone else that I know

of, and I'm my own goddamned hero.
You automatons never knew what that meant.
I wear all black because I feel so low

and devoid of light - so it's apropos.
I'm a self-contained unit. At present,
I'm cooler than anyone else that I know

and if you don't agree, well then go
fuck yourself, douche; I don't need your assent.
I wear all black because I feel so low;
I'm cooler than anyone else that I know.

--Lisa McColgan

lisamcc at 8:17 p.m.



6 comments so far
Jess
2006-07-12 12:20:27
HA HAH!! That is so awesome! I burned (yes, burned) all of my journals & notes back when I was a teenager because I knew that someday I would look back on the stuff I had written and make fun of my younger selve's angst. I was totally right. I wish I hadn't burned that stuff. I'm sure it was hysterical. Mr. Pibb has BOXES of old journals that he won't let me read because he's too embarrassed. I think there was a lot of stuff about the moon. You should totally post some of this stuff on the message board!
-------------------------------

Honey
2006-07-17 02:11:53
Oh, and you can find a poem I wrote when I was 13 or 14 here: http://primavera.livejournal.com/955208.html
-------------------------------

Honey
2006-07-15 01:08:28
Ooo.. Plath-esque.
-------------------------------

buzzgirl
2006-07-11 23:56:46
I love this so much. So. Very. Much. More, please.
-------------------------------

Danielle
2006-07-12 07:20:30
I think my favorite part is the paragraph break between "know" and "of." So edgy.
-------------------------------

Lisa
2006-07-12 07:58:59
It was my angsty, 24-year-old's attempt at a villanelle! I had to break the line there! It was all about the FORM, man. All about the FORM.
-------------------------------

previous | next