2006-05-09

M

As assigned to me by my dearest dearheart dear, the Marquis Deja Du, and in no particular order:

Ten things I like beginning with 'M'


Mansion, The Haunted: I am obsessed with this ride. When I was a kid, I wanted to live in the Haunted Mansion. (I still do.) Imagine my glee, then, to find a veritable wealth of like-minded folk all across the internerd, ranging from cute li'l gravers to pudgy programmers. We are all grim grinning ghosts in the making, just waiting to join the other 999 happy haunts. It bears repeating: I LOVE the Haunted Mansion. For reals. I'm even friends with it on the MySpace and everything. I am THIS CLOSE to having Justin tattoo the three hitchhiking ghosts on my backside.

MySpace: OK, this is more of a love/hate thing going on. From a purely sociological standpoint, it's a fascinating place. But I notice now that every time you hear about someone going batshit insane and doing something really, horribly, dreadfully newsworthy, it INVARIABLY comes out that he or she has a MySpace profile.

Magazines: The crappier, the better, please. OK, that's not entirely true. I do read "In Touch" and "US Weekly," and my sister even got me a TWO YEAR subscription to "OK!" But I also get "Bitch," "BUST" and "Writer's Digest," so it's really okay. Right? RIGHT?!

Making Fun Of Famous People: And you know, thank Christ I read all them shitty magazines, because otherwise I wouldn't have anything to post about on my message board. I wouldn't have a pot to piss in, so to speak. Which leads me to...

Message Boards: more specifically, the merry little band of poop-and-celebrity-obsessed perverts we've assembled, but I have been known to lurk on others. The internet has ruined me, truly.


Murphy, Peter: Swoon.... I've seen him eleventy million times, solo and with Bauhaus, and I'm going to see him AGAIN this summer.

Makeup: There was a time, not terribly long ago, when I was perfectly content with my little cheapassed tube of Wet 'N Wild ..508, and a ton of black eyeliner. Now it's like Sephora has vomited all over my bathroom. I am a PRODUCT WHORE.

Merriam-Webster Online: Somewhere along the line one of our group discovered the utterly puerile joy of looking things up on this site and playing the accompanying pronunciation .WAV files over and over. Like so. It's FUNNY.

Monkeys: Who doesn't like 'em?

And finally:


The Marquis. Big, Big Daddy of the Rhythm, I send this sloppy kiss to you...

lisamcc at 9:02 p.m.



1 comments so far
Marquis de Tade
2006-05-11 23:54:23
Now that wasn't so difficult, was it? And what a sweet ending. That picture always makes me sad though. I met a boy that night, had the hottest date of my life, then it was over. Which is how it needed to be played out, but still. To quote the Marquise de Merteuil, "We will have our one night, and we will enjoy it enough to regret it is to be our last." Also, I daily mourn Katrina's wrath on the Country Club. I miss that place, and that gorgoue piano. http://www.dejadu.com/lj/ccpiano1.jpg http://www.dejadu.com/lj/ccpiano2.jpg
-------------------------------

previous | next