2005-05-22

The Final LA installment

Day Five, Los Angeles This is my last full day here, so what we do?

We go to the motherfuckin' Glendale Galleria! Yeah!

Actually, we had to go because Paula was out of her Elizabeth Arden stuff, and Robinsons-May was the only place that carried it. En route to the Robinsons-May, we were drawn, as if by some dark, sinister, unseen presence, to a brightly-lit emporium staffed by blonde, heavily made-up women carrying little silver trays. Inside, a veritable cornucopia of cheap-assed accessories. It was AWFUL, chickens; I think I spent about $25 dollars on a whole bunch of stuff that I'm not ever going to wear, but at the time, PK and I squealed like a pair of pinched gerbils at, like, EVERYTHING.

As it turns out, "For Love 21" is the twisted sibling of the very, VERY horrible "Forever 21" store, which was located at the other end of the Galleria. Dirt cheap, "trendy" fashions that won't survive much more than two or three machine washings. (NOTE: as it turns out, this chain was under intense scrutiny as recently as last year, but the boycott encouraged by sweatshopwatch.org was lifted in December.) I bought a tshirt, but when I took it out of the bag when I got back to the apartment, I noticed - in the fold of the bottom of the bag - John 3:16

"Hey," I yelled to Paula, "C'mere and look at this!"
"Whoa."
"That's SO shifty, dude!"

Understand that I've certainly got nothing against Christians, or Christian businesses. But Forever 21, with its teeney, tiny little halter tops and micro-minis, certainly falls into a - shall we say - more SECULAR category, and to take out my cute li'l glittery shirt and encounter a reminder that God so loved the world that he gave his only begotten Son was just...you know...shifty.

From there....what? One last trip to Astroburger? TWIST MY ARM.

That night, we went to this vegetarian/vegan Mexican restaurant with our pals Spooney and Vicki. We had a lovely time, and upon our return, snapped a photo of the biggest pussy magnet in Glendale:

I went to Los Angeles, convinced I'd utterly hate it. There are definitely some sketchy elements, not the least of which are the scammers who hang out in front of the Chinese Theatre dressed in costumes (they convince you to snap a picture with them, then hit you up for money). You also have to drive everywhere. On the other hand, Los Angeles has Astroburger, great vintage stores, great weather, and Paula Kelley.

lisamcc at 5:46 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next