2002-03-20

Tapeheads

Random Stuff From the World of Me:

So, in the copy room this morning, I ask my friend Scott, "So, didja go to Liza's wedding last weekend?"

"No, I did NOT. I boycotted it."

"Why, Scott...whatever for?"

"That bloated bitch stole my man!"

*******

You know what I miss? Tape recorders. I mean, I'm sure they still make those old school jobbers, the ones you had to load a million "C" batteries into, but I think in this day and age of CD burners and what-not, tape recordings are a lost art form. My sister Tina and I were masters of the genre, recording miles and miles of cheap K-Mart tape on our little machines. We'd record mock "Donahue" shows, interviewing such luminaries as Mary Tyler Moore, Truman Capote, and the kid across the street who could burp on command. We'd create fake products and write these absolutely insane jingles to sell them. Ointments to treat the horrible scourge known as butt zits.

The greatest jingle ever, though, was penned by Tina (one can only hope that her child inherits this gift), and to this day we can still sing it:

Bubbly Bath! It's so CLEAN and COOL...

Bubbly Bath! You can hear it pop: POP!

Bubbly Bath! Oo-oo-oo! Oo-oo-oo! Bubbly Bath! Oo-oo-oo....YEAH!

Thank you. We'll be here all week.

lisamcc at 12:57 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next