2002-02-11

Cardinal Law

Cardinal Law needs to get the hell out of Dodge. Period.

A preposterously huge portion of his "sermon" at the Cathedral yesterday focused on Why He's Not Gonna Turn In His Red Beanie. It wouldn't do any good for him to resign, because, see, he needs to make sure that he himself puts a great, big Band-Aid on the Church. The issue at hand isn't whether or not he can effectively backpedal. This is a man who knowingly sent a pedophile from parish to parish for the better part of 15 years. That is the issue. That is why he needs to go.

"I'm not a CEO," he blubbers. Fine, Bernie, then stop running the Archdiocese like a corporation.

I have a vested interest in what's going on here, not just because I'm a Catholic. Geoghan served, and fondled little boys at, the parish where I grew up, went to school, and received 4 of the 7 sacraments. It was mumbled about now and again in my house, years after the fact. To find out that Geoghan continued to serve for 20 years after he left our parish literally made me want to puke.

It makes me mad. There is much good about my religion. There's also a lot I don't agree with. But it does no good to rail against Catholicism as a whole because of what is happening here in Massachusetts. It makes as much sense as condemning all of Islam because of Osama Bin Laden. Corruption exists everywhere, in every organization, in every religion, anywhere that some megalomaniac can twist a set of seemingly basic principles to his or her personal advantage.

lisamcc at 5:19 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next