2001-04-26

It's okay to like Def Leppard, dude.

Like many folks of my age and general surly disposition, I spent much of the late 80's sneering at bands I perceived to be of the "hair metal" genre. To admit to liking them -- nay, to even admit to finding them somewhat amusing -- was to invite absolute derision from my equally surly, pasty-faced friends. And so I went blithely on through most of my twenties, staring at my Docs and listening to the Cocteau Twins, thinking myself so much the better for not buyin' into them nasty, sexist hair bands. Sweeping generalizations were my forte.

A couple of things happened to change my attitude. One was turning 30. Suddenly I was awash in perverse sentimentalism for my high school and college days (I mean, even more so). And it went far beyond dusting off the "Pretty In Pink" soundtrack; I often found myself in my bandmate's car, giddily shrieking along to Def Leppard and Skid Row songs on the radio. I thought, "This stuff isn't bad." I even emailed Sebastian Bach to apologize for my heretofore pissy attitude; like he could've known or cared that I was dissing his band back in '91. But, you know, I felt bad, kind of. I mean, I saw him on "Cribs," and anybody who collects comic books (like I do) and KISS paraphernalia (like I do) and says "Dude" a lot (I admit to calling many, many people, including my mother, "Dude.") is a-ok by me. I never heard back from him, but I felt much better for having gotten it out of my system.

Last night I danced around the house to "Pyromania" and I had such a good time. I have way more fun now that I've decided to stop being a snot.

lisamcc at 5:55 p.m.



0 comments so far

previous | next